PDA

View Full Version : Going to law school at 38?

Mr. Brass Bonanza
08-09-2009, 07:17 AM
I've always wanted to become a tax attorney because of my fascination with both the law and taxes. I'm 38 and wondering if this unrealistic considering two factors: I'm unemployed with no extra funds and I'm 38. If I was somehow able to pay for this, would I be able to do anything as an attorney right out of school at the ripe old age of 43?

carley
08-09-2009, 07:23 AM
i say go for it!!

a family friend went to med school at the age of 35 and love love loved it

your never to old to try anything or give it a whirl

besides 43 is still pretty darn young

Jeff
08-09-2009, 07:29 AM
In 5 years you will either be an attorny or you won't. However, in any event you will still be 43!

Baloo Da Man!
08-09-2009, 07:50 AM
I am a tax attorney. One of the things you might consider is that law school barely touches the surface of tax law. It takes the right school and concentrated effort to take enough tax courses to have any semblance of proficiency when you graduate with just a JD. I, and so many other tax lawyers like me, got another degree, a Master of Laws (LL.M.) in taxation, right after law school. More money, more time. When law firms look for a tax attorney, they want an LL.M. Your competition most likely will have that extra degree.

Tax law is hard, but interesting. It is a colossal, convoluted puzzle, for which the rules are constantly changing, and you have a 8,000,000 pound gorilla (IRS) chasing you all the time.

That being said, I know several attorneys who went to school late in life and are doing quite well.

sisterslovindisney
08-09-2009, 08:43 AM