PDA

View Full Version : What's the best camera?

cEveArdenfan
08-03-2009, 03:52 PM
I'm going to buy my first camera soon, and I'm not sure which brand is best for me. I know only I can tell that for sure, but I could use some help. I'm just a casual photographer, nothing fancy. I would like to buy from a company who's at least somewhat kind to the environment. I'm a WDW pass holder so that's where I think I'll be taking most of my photos. I know Kodak probably springs to mind, but I'm a Dreamfinder fan and I'm suspicious of their involvement in his disappearance. Any help would be appreciated! :dale:

Ed
08-03-2009, 04:19 PM
Wow... there are so many good ones out there. There are a lot of variables that will come into play in making your decision.

Digital vs film
"Point and Shoot" vs adjustable
Zoom/wide angle capability vs fixed lens
Maximum/Minimum Resolution for digital
Too many more to list.....

It all depends on what you plan to use the camera for. For simple snapshots, you might be perfectly happy with a pocket-size camera with minimal "gizmos" to fool with. For serious photography offering a huge array of possible adjustments, interchangeable lenses, etc., etc., a good digital single lens reflex (SLR) camera is the way to go. The downside is that most DSLRs are large and often fairly heavy to tote around.

The very best thing you can do is to stop by a local camera shop (a REAL camera shop, not Target or WalMart) and have a chat with one of their sales people whose whole job is selling cameras, not cameras today and washing machines tomorrow. :nono: Explain to him/her exactly the type of photos you are looking to capture, your budget, and preferences as to size, weight, and whether you plan to print out your pictures or just enjoy them on the computer.

A few of the better brands who make both point-and-shoot and DSLRs for casual photography would be Sony, Canon and Nikon. There's plenty more out there; a quick Google search might be helpful.

Disney Doll