PDA

View Full Version : Not sure what is happening...

Dsnygirl
07-26-2009, 01:39 PM
The last couple of times I've gotten on Intercot, I've had some weird experiences with ads jumping in and pulling me to a new site... one was MySpace, which was okay, just annoying... but one was a very inappropriate site, have no idea how it linked me there from here. They seem to be going through something called 'quikjump' or a similar name... any idea what this might be? It hasn't happened on any other sites I've gone to over the last few days, just here. It just happened a few minutes ago while I was trying to post to a thread... kept trying to navigate me to a new page, each time I clicked Cancel, it'd try a new one. Is this something to do with all the new ads we're seeing at the top of the page, maybe??

I'm mostly concerned b/c of the inappropriate page it took me to... I had a very hard time closing the page after it opened, and am now concerned that it is somewhere on my computer and my girls could have it re-open by accident.

Thanks for any input...

It'sWDW4me
07-26-2009, 01:59 PM
Do you have anti-spyware or the like or a pop-up blocker? It's possible you may have a bug.

Dsnygirl
07-26-2009, 02:19 PM
Do you have anti-spyware or the like or a pop-up blocker? It's possible you may have a bug.
We have both... and they both ran Friday. Still have to ask my DH, he may know, but just wanted to see if anyone else had experienced the same... :confused:

JPL
07-26-2009, 03:03 PM
It's definately some type of spyware or PUP that is taking control and linking you to other sites. I would run the scans of your computer again and if they don't find anything I highly recommend installing and running Spybot which usually catches things most Virus Scans and Spyware programs miss.

John
07-26-2009, 03:41 PM
Unfortunately, this happened to my boss's computer at work - and it was a trojan that would take hold of the browser and redirect you to other sites.