PDA

View Full Version : WDW, Univ, SW too much?

thejens
06-18-2009, 10:20 PM
I am relatively new to the whole theme park thing and just fell in love with WDW four years ago. I am considering doing a Universal/Sea World (Busch Gardens?) trip instead in 2010 to see Harry Potter World. Any thoughts? I just love WDW and am worried I will be disappointed. Our kids are now 5 and 11. We are not big thrill ride people. We like Splash, BTM, Space Mountain,Kali...my 11 year old has done TOT and RR, and would like to try other coasters. We are thinking about staying at one of the Universal resorts. Would it be too much to do 4 nights at Universal and 4 nights at WDW????

Disney5Mom
06-19-2009, 12:27 AM
We did exactly that a few years ago.3 nights at Royal Pacfic at Universal followed by 4 nights at Disney (Coronado Springs). We loved the trip. Pleasantly surprised how much we enjoyed Universal but still glad to go to disney as well.The only drawback is it is an expensive way to go.

Disney5Mom
06-19-2009, 12:29 AM
The front of the line access available to on site guests at Universal is fantastic and the hotels are lovely.

Figment50
06-19-2009, 03:50 AM
Staying on property is probly the expensive root. Staying off property some where in between universal and Disney maybe cheaper. Some hotels off property have shuttle services to and from the parks for free. Renting a car may not be so bad. Only down side to staying off propert is that you get non of those great on site perks.

DVC2004
06-19-2009, 09:16 AM
I don't think you'll need to spend 4 nights at Universal. I would say 2 nights would suffice. Really, there is not that much there to fill 4 nights. There's not a ton there for smaller kids either. Your older child will probably enjoy it more. Staying on property is good because it includes to express pass- which depending on the time of year you are going can be a very needed thing. We like the Royal Pacific Resort there. It is the least expensive and the theme is nice.