PDA

View Full Version : Facebook question

lovewalt
06-11-2009, 04:12 PM
I am fairly new to facebook and I am enjoying reconnecting with old high school friends and former co-workers.And it's also a nice way to keep in touch with family who live out of state.
My problem is with my current co-workers who insist on becoming facebook freinds even though I see them and communicate with them everday.Most of these people are younger than me and I guess I'm not as into the whole social networking thing as the younger crowd.I don't get it but whatever,I don't want to make waves and be the unfriendly co-woker.So I accept the friend requests.
I work on a hospital unit and in order to work effectively with everyone, I try to avoid the "cliques" and the gossip.I try and stay neutral in conversations that are not work related.One of my big rules is to NEVER discuss ethier religion or politics at work.I don't want to add arguments over hot button topics to my already stressful work environment.
Sometimes these co-workers will send me a "Cause" request on facebook.Often times they are political or religious causes.My question is about the 'ignore' option.What actually happens if I utilize it? Can the sender tell that I've used it? I don't want to offend anyone and I think the best way of doing that is to keep neutral with these issues.

2Epcot
06-11-2009, 04:24 PM
I'm also new to Facebook and love the part of connecting with old co-workers and classmates from years ago. What I do hate is all the games and quizzes (I don't know why people have so much time for those). I also get the cause things too. If you ignore, the person who sent it to you will not get any kind of notification that you did that.

I don't get so many co-worker friend request, but I do get quite a few from people I went to school with that I didn't really know that well in school. I don't really want to accept all the request, but I understand not wanting to be rude as well.