PDA

View Full Version : Working at WDW??

jaredkari
05-25-2009, 04:30 PM
My wife and I have recently been playing around with the idea of moving to central Florida. My wife has a masters degree in nursing and her job opportunities are almost limitless. I on the other hand have a degree to teach Social Studies and have been looking for a job for almost two years since I graduated and have found nothing. We would love to move to Florida (not just for WDW) for the climate, housing prices available currently, and outdoor activities.

We have discussed me possibly applying to work at WDW, not sure what kind of position, not sure if they are hiring right now, but obviously a lower position. I know there are many people on here that work for WDW and I just wanted their opinion of what kind of place it is to work. How bad are the hours? How are you treated? How strict are they on personal appearance (I have a goatee which I have had for years and don't really want to shave it off)? What is just your overall experience working at WDW good, bad, not worth it??? I would really like for find out a little more information and hopefully you all can help. Thanks :mickey:

KatrinaJ91
05-25-2009, 06:26 PM
I can guarantee you would have to shave your goatee. My daughter worked there last summer and all cast members have to follow the Disney Look guidelines. Here is one example for male guidelines:
[I]Facial Hair
For all male Cast Members, mustaches are permitted, but must be neatly trimmed and not present a bushy or unkempt appearance.
Mustaches must not extend onto or over the upper lip and must extend to the corners of the mouth, but not beyond or below the corners.
Aside from mustaches, Cast Members are expected to be clean-shaven every day. Beards, goatees and any extreme mustache styles are prohibited.
If you want more info on that, check here:
http://www.wdwcollegeprogram.com/sap/its/mimes/zh_wdwcp/disneylook/males_all.html

Hope this helps!

BluewaterBrad
05-26-2009, 02:59 PM