PDA

View Full Version : Disney Au Pair???

svarhall07
05-22-2009, 02:22 AM
this kind of sounds crazy, but here is the back story to the idea.

I'm 21 and a student at the University of Tennessee. I have been tutoring 6 different families' children for the past 3 years in math (my major is elementary education and mathematics). One of my families has 3 kids, 15 and 13 year old boys and a 11 year old girl. They are taking a family vacation to disney at the ned of June, and asked me to go along to hang out with the kids in the parks, spend evening with them when the parents out for alone time, and just help to keep up with the kids. I'm a camp counselor at a boy's athletic camp during the summers, so I was unable to go. However, the mom suggested that because I have been to Disney so many times, love going, and work great with kids, I should somehow try to find families that want/need extra help on vacation and go with them as a "disney au pair".

so, my question is, what do you all think about this? my first thought was that would be the dream job, but I don't want to appear as a creeper. I do work very well with kids, have many years of experience as a tutor, camp counselor, and substitute teacher, and I'm an avid disney lover. But what do you think the response would be? The mother's point was that many families go to Disney, but the parents are unable or don't want to ride the rides and keep up with there kids for a long week and that parents like to get out at night and go to eat at nice restaurants or go to the Boardwalk or Pleasure Island but are unable to because of their children. She very much thinks it would be an excellent service, but I'm not sure how people would respond. In no way am I looking for a free vacation, and would definitely offer to pay/contribute to my part of the vacation. I do feel that I would have fun and that kids would have more fun with a younger, full of energy, disney loving guy, but I'm still very unsure. What are your thoughts?