PDA

View Full Version : English question

Jeri Lynn
04-08-2009, 04:46 PM
Hi Folks,
My son is having some struggles in English.

He just had to write two essays on the book "Things Fall Apart".

He had to write an open response essay and a rich text analysis...

I've been out of school for almost 30 years and do not recall if I ever learned these terms...I don't think I have...

Could someone clarify them for me so that I can review his essays to see if he wrote them correctly.

Thanks!!

ElenitaB
04-08-2009, 04:52 PM
Though I've been out of the teaching biz for a while, I do have a middle schooler. "Open response essay" is what back in the day we called "open book." If your son is writing an essay about a book, it would be logical that he can refer to the book in order to accurately quote from it.

I have a grad degree in literature, so I would imagine that "rich text analysis" would call for some analytical discussion of the author's use of words, dialog, etc.

Would it be possible to schedule some time or a brief call with his English teacher (or as we call them "language arts") to discuss your questions and concerns?

Jeri Lynn
04-08-2009, 05:02 PM
Thank you so much.

My son is 16...he starts off with good grades and then they decline...everything else in his life becomes more important than boring school work...

We watch his grades closely and I keep in touch with his teachers if I see things declining. The school has a program where we can check grades online, but if the teacher does not update the grades we aren't sure where things stand until he does...His English grade went from a B to an F overnight because when the teacher updated the site my son had failed to pass in two major writing assignments and it killed his grade...he updated the grades this weekend, and unfortunately report cards are coming out this Friday...