PDA

View Full Version : Voices of Liberty--Ick!

PeterJ911
04-06-2009, 04:28 PM
This might be just me, but the Voices of Liberty at the American Adventure pavillion completely annoy me. Note that I am a musician/singer and appreciate close harmonies as much as the next person, and have done a lot of choral singing over the years, so I know some of what I'm talking about. Everything the VoL sing, they put a "pop" spin on. Every note--especially in the higher voices--gets the "swoop" treatment and ends up sounding so saccharine it makes my teeth hurt. We were just there last week and listened to them (couldn't avoid it), and they sang what could have been a nice arrangement of one of my favorite songs of all time--"Shennandoah." But they butchered it. Cripes, people--you're technically very good! Just sing the darn songs straight!

PetefromRI
04-06-2009, 06:05 PM
My wife and I both love this group.My wife also has an extensive background in choral and she absolutly loves them.To each his own I guess.We're looking to see them in May.

readytogo2
04-06-2009, 07:08 PM
ive got to agree with you PeterJ.

DreamFinder2
04-06-2009, 07:10 PM
My DW (who is a singer and vocal instructor) and I like VoL, but agree with the over-the-top sweetness sometimes. If you forget any vocal training you may have ever had, they're kind of fun to listen to. But, if you're there to critique them, it could be a long 25 minute performance :blush:

Having said that, the VoL are the only reason we ever go into the AA pavillion, since we think the attraction itself is boring :mickey:

Dulcee
04-06-2009, 07:10 PM
Oh, We've always loved the Voices of Liberty and usually make it a point to seek them out. I've always appreciated them taking classical arrangements and making them their own... makes it more interesting for the listener i think..

hubbyofadisneyholic
04-06-2009, 07:52 PM
To each his/her own...but I am there to enjoy not critique.