PDA

View Full Version : Whats the best way for a First Timer

rtm4slm
03-23-2009, 10:25 PM
This is my first time taking my family to DW
I have one daughter 7 & son 5. My wife & I have been to DW in 92 But have not been back since. Whats the best way to plan for our family
to have a good time? We are going 4/29 thru 5/6 staying at CB. Thanks for any suggestions.

joonyer
03-23-2009, 11:11 PM
Read these boards as much as you can before you go, and also a good WDW guide book. The more you know the better prepared you will be and even more important, you won't have unrealistic expectations, so you won't end up feeling disappointed by them. I think that happens to a lot of first timers. Decide what you think your family will enjoy the most and don't worry about trying to do/see everything all on the first day. Take a deep breath every so often and soak up the magic. Being there a week, you will have time to experience most of the attractions, but not every nook and cranny of WDW. Learn how to use the FastPass system to your best advantage.
And finally, my special tip: ride Splash Mountain at least once after dark, preferably during Wishes (Magic Kingdom fireworks show). We did that (by accident) on our first trip and it was such a magical experience we've done it on every trip since as a family tradition. It's pure "Disney magic" seeing the fireworks bursting over the Cinderella's castle as you ride what we think is the most magical and fun attraction in WDW. We take another night to view Wishes from Main Street to get the full effect of the fireworks.

Tigerinvestigator
03-23-2009, 11:37 PM
You are on the right track already! Great week to go and the crowds should be great. Use this sight in your planning and get a good guide. Don't try to do everything, but concentrate on the things you want to do most. Leave plenty of time to relax and enjoy your vacation.

My tip: Make sure you eat at the Garden Grill- best food and one on one time with Mickey!:thumbsup:

GrumpyFan