PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Else Looking for a Job?

mjaclyn
01-24-2009, 04:29 PM
You can count me in as one of those people who were laid off from their job in 2008. I've exhausted my unemployment benefits (including extensions) and still haven't been able to find work. I have my resume posted on a number of online job sites, have been on a few interviews, and check for new jobs in our weekly newspaper and local internet sites. I'm a Graphic Designer and I just don't think there is much out there right now. I remember calling about a freelance job I found in the newspaper and the hiring manager said she'd already had 45 calls in an hour and a half! The market is just terrible right now - at least where I live.

Now I'm starting to look beyond my field for possible options. The problem is I'd really like to do something part time or from home since I have a 2 1/2 year old and I'm also expecting #2 in May. I was thinking about taking the test for Census work since a bunch of my other 'mommy' friends have done that.

Is anyone else in the same boat? Does anyone know of any legitimate companies that employ people at home? A friend of mine worked for 1-800-Flowers for awhile taking orders over the phone. Of course, it's definitely not my ideal job and pays a lot less than what I normally make in my own field, but something is better than nothing right?

handmaidenofprincesses
01-24-2009, 06:05 PM
I'm in the same boat as you. I lost all three of my part-time jobs within the space of a week after the stock market went all woogity, and I've been unable to find anything else since. I've even applied at Walmart and Target, etc, and although they say "Now Hiring" they don't seem to be hiring me!