PDA

View Full Version : Who else wishes they had taken the day off today?

IloveDisney71
01-23-2009, 10:23 AM
I'm a teacher and had to go on "lock-down" yesterday because of a custody battle between one of my student's parents. Guess what? I'm on lock-down again today. I can't leave the room unless I take the child with me or give him to another teacher so I can use the restroom. I have to keep the door locked at ALL times - do you know how many times people come and go in a classroom during a typical day. I'm spending a LOT of time running to the door to see if I can let someone in. I wish I had taken the day off! Kindergarten is NOT supposed to be like this. Parents need to grow up and stop using their kids in their battles!!!:mad:
Sorry - I just needed to vent.

SBETigg
01-23-2009, 10:28 AM
Wow, that sounds pretty heated. It's not a spot I would want to be in. It must be so hard on the poor child, too. What an awful situation! You deserve an extra day off.

MstngDrvnDsnyLvr
01-23-2009, 10:36 AM
It is utter stupidity for parents to do that.
Hope Monday is better for you.
Atleast only your classroom goes into lockdown. The entire school goes under lockdown with our district. When I worked as the elementary school crossing guard, the few times we had lock downs, I had to be brought into a classroom for the lockdown. And they were for the same reasons as yours....custody idiocy.

Stitchahula
01-23-2009, 11:50 AM
Oh my god! I feel so bad for that poor little kid. Also for all the other kids in class that are learning a lesson that people can be pretty awful sometimes. I hope that kid can get into some good counceling so he/she knows that this is NOT their fault. Why can't those parents act like grown ups and stop using the poor kid as a weapon against eachother. I know if that was going on in my DS kindergarten class I would be furious at those parents. Good luck I hope things resolve quickly for all those involved. Including you.

Magic Smiles
01-23-2009, 06:39 PM