PDA

View Full Version : Who's working during the holidays?

princessjojo
12-24-2008, 08:38 AM
I'm just curious. I know I have to work Christmas Day, but I work in a hospital, so I knew this going in to the job. Actually, I don't mind. The hospital can be a lonely place, especially during the holidays. My family spent Christmas, New Years, and Easter there one year. It was nice knowing that some of our nurses chose to be there with us during our family time.

That said, I chose to work this day for this same reason, but don't have to be there until 1pm and get off at 7pm. I get New Years Eve and New Years Day also, though not both days by choice.

Anyone else working the holidays this year?

Beast_fanatic
12-24-2008, 08:42 AM
I'm working today (Christmas Eve) and then I'm off until Monday, and then next week I work Monday through Wednesday (New Year's Eve which will be a late day as all the credit unions will be processing year end), I'll hopefully be off New Year's day, and then I have to work Friday the 2nd.

Strmchsr
12-24-2008, 10:01 AM
Being a pastor I'll be working today and tomorrow. I appreciate everyone in the hospitals, police and fire, military, etc who are working today and tomorrow to keep everyone else safe. Thanks for all you do! In fact, tonight after our Christmas Eve worship service all of my congregation members are going to be delivering doughnuts to everyone we can find who's working tonight just to say thanks and you're appreciated! :number1:

princessgirls
12-24-2008, 10:02 AM
My Husband... he is a CAT scan technician in our area hospital ER. He likes to work the holidays... as he puts it, it is "Lucrative". I've had it! The only bonus is that he works the midnight shift, so he doesn't miss too much stuff going on at home.
He worked every holiday in 2008.
Julie:mickey:

Bethis26fan
12-24-2008, 10:19 AM