PDA

View Full Version : Booking One-Way on Airline Carriers

KylesMom
12-21-2008, 10:04 AM
As a business professional, I've always been directed not to purchase flights in one-way increments since it usually will cause security alerts and other such problems.

At this time I am not finding any reasonable flights to Orlando for June, but have found an American flight for $149 on the return trip. We want to utilize a carrier that we can use the Disney Express Check-In service so that we don't have to mess with our bags at the airport.

For those who have booked in one-way increments (different carriers, different airports, etc) what types of problems did you run into, if any? I'm in a quandary on whether I should book our return flight NOW and wait to see if flight costs come down for outbound flights, or if I should wait. Any thoughts?

DizneyRox
12-21-2008, 10:25 AM
I always book one-way with Southwest so I can game their system for better prices, easier...

Only once was I unable to do the online check-in because I had been flagged for a security check. When I called them to inquire. they would neither confirm nor deny that one way tickets were more likely to trigger this security check.

It has been a few years since this happened and it hasn't happened again. I would take your chances. Airlines need to understand they can't charge insane prices, so look out for your wallet first.

dmallan
12-21-2008, 02:21 PM
We booked one way flights with two different carriers in January 08. No problem either way. We went right through security with everyone else.

AdventurelandTikiGirl
12-21-2008, 04:52 PM
I typically book one way tickets with different airlines when I travel in order to get the best deal. I've never had any problems with it. :thumbsup:

teambricker04
12-21-2008, 05:02 PM
I have booked one way tickets on United, Us Airways, Airtran, and Northwest and never had any problems.