PDA

View Full Version : Spaying clinics--are they safe??

beksy
10-15-2008, 09:59 AM
As you may know, I just got a kitten and its already time to think about spaying! Well, I am also a law student so money is a little tight (ok, its very tight!) but I definitely want to get my Minnie spayed. There is a free clinic here that will spay and neuter for free. Does anyone have experience with these? I don't want to take a chance with Minnie but I also really don't have the extra money for her vet to do it. Are these places safe to use (as safe as the vet) or should I find a way to take her to the vet to be spayed? Any info is appreciated! Thanks! :mickey:

JanetMegan
10-15-2008, 10:36 AM
I'm going through the same thing, my local clinic wants $45 which seems cheap but is in my price range...I don't want her to be hurt of course but I'm in the same broke boat as you!

Stitchahula
10-15-2008, 11:26 AM
I don't want to scare you but it is a major surgery. I haven't used one but I have heard some not so favorable things about them. See if your vet could maybe do a payment plan for you. Also at at a veternary hospital if something goes wrong god forbid they would be better suited to handle it. Good luck.

Tick-Tock
10-15-2008, 11:27 AM
I volunteered with a cat rescue group. The vets working with us for our clinics were the same vets that their clients brought pets to. They had as high standards for their free spays and neuters. I would check out the group that's offering the clinic, but I wouldn't be concerned that free necessarily = poorer quality or more dangerous (obviously, there's always a risk with surgery, but it's pretty low for most cats).

If that particular clinic/group doesn't check out so favorably, contact your local humane society and animal rescue groups. They may have recommendations for other low-cost or no-cost options.

RenDuran
10-15-2008, 02:36 PM