PDA

View Full Version : This night owl must become an early bird!

DisneyDudet
10-10-2008, 02:52 PM
So, out of all my years here on Intercot, and the trials and tribulations of nursing school, plus my worries about working with people as a new nurse becoming charge nurse, I now have a new phase...

I am now going to doing Charge on day shift! I have been working night shift since April of 2007, and a Charge Nurse on nights since about November of 2007. They need a core charge nurse on nights, and I was asked to do it. I will be taking a pay cut, by not getting differentials, but the other day charge and I worked it out where we would both be picking up an extra day or two each month. She is used to working 60 hours a week, merely for the money, but her 6 year old daughter has started to act out, and mentioned to her that she is feeling like she's playing second fiddle to work. So, now she feels like she needs to cut back her hours.

Now, I will be working hand in hand with doctors, instead of calling them. It will be a lot more fast paced, among other things. I am nervous. I was supposed to have a week or so, just to orient to the shift, then a week to orient to Day Charge. Well, I got a call from my Boss Man (what I call him), and he told me that I will start on orientation to Day Charge THIS SUNDAY!!! I was extremely surprised, as I was told, through the grapevine, that it would be in a week or so. This really is a shock!

So, I ask for your prayers and pixie dust as I transition to this new role. It will be similar, but a whole lot more important. I just want the staff to welcome me, and that it won't be as bad as I am thinking it will be!

Stitchahula
10-10-2008, 02:56 PM
Congrats I'm sure you'll do great

DizNee143
10-10-2008, 03:21 PM
goodluck..im sure everythign will go fine!! :mickey:

Beast_fanatic
10-10-2008, 03:36 PM
I'm sure it will be fine. :thumbsup:

Good luck! :magic:

MNNHFLTX
10-10-2008, 03:44 PM
Welcome to the world of daylight, Morgan! ;)