PDA

View Full Version : Band Instrument ?

NewmanFamily6
09-09-2008, 07:43 PM
My DD 11 has been tapped to play the saxophone in the band. The school is trying to get me to buy through their instrument dealer a Yamaha or Selmar brand for around $1400.00:eek: I found a Cecilio Series 2 Alto Saxophone usually $1200.00 on sale for $600.00. Does anyone have any experience with Cecilio? Would it be good for a beginner because it sure would be great for my wallet:confused:

TinkiTime1989
09-09-2008, 07:51 PM
I don't have any advice on the Cecilio, however I started playing the violin when I was 11. Our school didn't have a dealer for us to buy through. Instead we were encouraged to rent our instruments until we were sure that we were going to stick with it. Maybe rental from a local music store would be a better option until you know that your daughter is going to stick with the instrument. Once she is older and fully committed to continue playing you could consider buying her a nice instrument as a reward for her hard work and dedication. Some music stores also have a program where you can rent-to-own the instrument.

NewmanFamily6
09-09-2008, 07:59 PM
Thanks for the advice I have no experience with these things;)

mouselover93
09-09-2008, 08:31 PM
i dont think theres any difference in companies the only reason people say some are better is because the price is better and they're fresh from the makers problay. but $600 is a good deal thats a lot cheaper then some discounted instrumenats are. i play trumpet and have only seen the lowest price even on sale at $1100

Kairi_7378
09-09-2008, 08:38 PM
I would recommend trying to find a used saxophone for your daughter. I think that at the beginner level, brands aren't as important. If she decides to play for a longer amount of time, you can always upgrade. Other options would be a monthly rental (available in many metro areas.)

andreallybadeggs
09-09-2008, 09:26 PM