PDA

View Full Version : I should not be allowed to get bored....

conorsmom2000
07-15-2008, 08:24 AM
Oh boy.

Sunday was a very lazy day here - Conor was in the pool with a friend (water was too cold for me!) and Mike was reading in the hammock. So, I had been toying with the idea of changing my hair color, and though I have a perfectly good hairdresser, I decided to do it myself right then and there. Oops.

I was born very blonde, but by the time I was 8 or 10, it was "dirty" blonde/mousy brown. I don't really know what it is now, as all of us (my parents and 6 brothers and sisters) went gray in our teens. At this point, I am 75% gray, so I've been coloring my hair for 20 years, mostly a medium to dark blonde (with the occassional really light blonde or highlights thrown in). But, the summer always makes it really blonde and kind of beat up looking.

So, I thought I would try a dark blonde color with a hint of red in it for a change (note to self: stay away from colors with "spice" in the name!!) :blush: So, I do my hair.....and it's red. And I mean red. Lucille Ball red. Uh oh! Even Mike was slightly horrified by how red it was. So, sorry hair, but I ran right to the drugstore and got a dark blonde and a light brown (I need 2 boxes for my hair, and I was afraid to use all blonde lest it turn orange!) So, I mixed them together and threw it on....

Well, now I have dark brownish/copper colored hair!! :blush: Oops. (as I told Mike, kind of cross between a hershey bar and a penny!) Though my natural color could be this dark by now (under the gray), I've never actually been this dark....ever. I still get a little jolt of shock when I pass a mirror! :D I just think it is way too dark for me!!

It looks like I'll have to have a professional fix it (stripped, then colored again), but I want to wait a bit so my poor hair can recover (I have very tough hair that can take abuse, luckily!)