PDA

View Full Version : Gas is killin' me

Gator
06-11-2008, 08:56 PM
I drive for a living and my employer refuses to raise reimbursment for mileage. Plus, I'm taking a trip to Yellowstone next week, and gas is going to eat my lunch. It makes me so happy to know that the politicians are refusing to let us drill for more oil to help ease the burden on us middle-class peons. Must be nice to be driven around in limos and have government gas cards.:thedolls:

jennsky
06-11-2008, 09:57 PM
I commute to work 100km round-trip a day (just over 60 miles a day) and the price of gas is hurting me too. Up in Canada, it is $1.30/litre which works out to over $5.20 US a gallon. So we're feeling the pinch up here too. I work afternoons and evenings and public transit around here doesn't cater very well to those kind of hours. So, yes, I feel your pain.

BUT, with that being said, I don't think that means we should be drilling in the north for oil...that's only a band-aid solution. From what I understand, even if they were to get oil from Alaska, it would be 10 years or more before that gas would be flowing to the pumps. I think the big problem is that big business is greedy and even though the technology is out there for more fuel efficient vehicles, the general public hasn't been given access to them because we haven't taken issue with paying the prices at the pumps. NOW people are getting angry and frustrated, and as shown by the layoffs GM announced last week at their "gas-guzzling" truck plants, maybe now they're realizing they need to get their behinds in gear and flood the market with hybrids/electric cars if they have any hope of staying in the business.

DisneyWhirled
06-11-2008, 10:21 PM
Feeling it here, too! Also, just found out today that my lock in heating oil price will be $4.29/gal for a total of approx $4300 to heat our home in 08-09. Last year we locked in @ $2.29/gal...that is a $2K difference. I just want to cry.:(