PDA

View Full Version : spaceship earth question

dyin tago
05-30-2008, 01:45 PM
hi, is there much difference since the spaceship earth refurbishment?

JerseyDad
05-30-2008, 02:27 PM
.....that's like asking if there's much difference between night & day!!! ;)

....seriously though....I think that someone in Disney feels that they did a great job.....and I feel that they missed the mark by miles.

(of course...that's my opinion...I'm a purist...and I'm not too good with the whole "change" thing)

Shugoondola
05-30-2008, 07:43 PM
I liked the old version better. The most notable change occurs during the second half of the ride. There is a touch screen in front where riders map out their future and see the results. It's cute a time or two, but I miss the old scenery on the way down and the music. I think it could get tiresome. Not all change is good.

:mickey:

devoted93
05-31-2008, 02:32 PM
It should be mentioned that it's got a completely new narration (by Judi Dench), new script, and new music, as well. I haven't been on it yet, but I've heard they did well with some new animatronics and a couple of new scenes but that the second half is a complete let-down. Whoever thought it was a good idea to completely remove ALL scenery for the last half of the ride and have you play with a computer monitor on the last half of the ride needs to look into a new line of work. YMMV.

kadesha
05-31-2008, 02:52 PM
OMG! I am horrified after reading this!! The second part, the way back down, was my favorite part!! The scenery and lights were so beautiful!! It's really not there anymore?! :mad:

Shugoondola
05-31-2008, 03:14 PM
It's really not there anymore?! :mad:

It's all gone. :sad:

:mickey:

TheRustyScupper
05-31-2008, 04:25 PM
1) In this case, I think the Imagineers had no imagination.
2) They seemed to do this on-the-cheap.
3) They had great money from Siemens, and spend it poorly.
4) More like squandered it.
5) They should be ashamed of the title "Imagineer".