PDA

View Full Version : Need some pixie dust... got downsized yesterday

Kairi_7378
04-03-2008, 09:13 AM
Hi all, I had a very difficult day yesterday. The company that I have been working at for the past 8.5 years told me yesterday that my job had been eliminated in preparation for the projected economic downturn. My position was one of eight that was eliminated. I have been there since I was a college intern, and I am devastated. They also let the guy who had the best billing ratings in the office, and a guy who just got his PE (Professional Engineers' license) go.

We have a lot of cash squirreled away and we are on my husband's health insurance so I am not worried about these things for the time being. What has also complicated this matter for me is that I am 4.5 months pregnant, and as a civil engineer, I am sometimes required to do work on construction sites. I have been on restricted duty since January (when I found out that I was pregnant). I don't know how to go about interviewing for jobs when I am going to start showing any day now.

This morning was incredibly difficult- I thought that it was a dream and I cried when DH left for work because we commuted to the city together. I'm giving myself today to be a mopey cranky person, but after that I have to figure out what to do in this situation. So, if you have any spare pixie dust or prayers for a fellow Disney fan, could you please send them my way?

offwego
04-03-2008, 09:17 AM
I'm so sorry to hear this..and so glad you still have your health insurance!

Does the company offer any transition support? As an alumni of your school can you use them for networking etc again?

Pixie dust on it's way & I hope this leads you to a brighter future.

AuntDJ
04-03-2008, 09:36 AM
SOOO much Pixie Dust coming your way!:pixie::pixie::pixie: and a :grouphug:!