PDA

View Full Version : I Need To Vent

MMouse6937
03-20-2008, 05:20 PM
I just need to vent so sorry. :mad:

Lots of people on here know that I'm an absolute animal lover, they are my world. I work in the medical field but if there's anything else in this world that I'm passionate about it's animals.

What is so frustrating to me is the ability for people to think that animals are disposable. I read posts on my local Craigslist where people are posting that they have to give their animals away because they have to move, they don't get along with their bird, they pooped on the floor, whatever. When I'm volunteering at the shelter I see animal after animal brought in because the people just had a new baby and now have to dispose of their pet. I just don't get it. There is not a thing, and I mean ANYTHING that my babies could do to make me get rid of them (trust me, they've tried ;) ) I would never move someplace they couldn't come, if we were poor, they would eat before I would eat, etc. Would you get rid of your child because they pooped on the floor or weren't getting along with their sister? No, so why is it acceptable to do this with an animal?

My DH has said I'm kinda one of those crazy animal people. Not quite throwing paint on people wearing fur and picketing slaughterhouses, but sometimes I feel that I'm close. My level of anger gets so high when I think that these creatures didn't ask to be brought into this world and treated badly.

I volunteer for the Humane Association, foster kittens and puppies, donate to the ASPCA, etc, but it never feels like it's going to be enough. My dad says I get too emotionally involved, but if I don't do something, who will? All of my animals were abused, abandoned, thrown away on the streets and they are the most wonderful creatures I have ever known. I want every animal to know what my animals know, what it's like to have love and compassion and to never be cold, hungry, abused.