PDA

View Full Version : Tales of the ER (I am not a good patient!)

DisneyDudet
02-07-2008, 12:33 AM
I am a nurse, and work on a unit, not the ER. But I had to go to the ER today for SEVERE back/side pain. It took 2 hours for me to be taken to a room, meanwhile having SEVERE pain (comes and goes) in the waiting room, doubled over, being very loud about the pain I was in. Luckily, it was short lived, but still, how can you let a patient be in that much pain!?

When I went back for my second set of vitals in triage (once an hour.. now nice) my blood pressure was nearly 170/90! I am 24... shouldn't that set off alarms? After some tylenol for my apparent fever (i'm sorry.. my heart rate was also in the 120's... that isn't just caused by fever!!!), they gave me a room.

I peed in my cup, and when I got back, a doctor was there to see me... I thought, how great! I'm getting seen so quickly!

Not so lucky.

It took me an hour to have anything done to me, and that was AFTER I walked to the front desk and asked if I was going to be seen by a nurse. I sure hope our ER (same Company... HCA) isn't like that. After a nurse coming in, asking me if anyone started an IV on me (I said no, no one has even been in here for an hour), I get an IV with fluids and pain meds... Too bad my pain was gone but oh well. They draw my labs... more waiting. We wait for about 2 hours to get a Doctor to see me, telling me what he thinks (passed a Kidney stone... which I figured), and sent me home with some pain meds if it happens again (and to go back to the ER for a CT... not that ER!).

Then, it takes an hour for this stuff to be written, and I, again, go to the front desk and ask for it. Another doctor has to find my doctor to get it. It turns out, the charge nurse had it. Why? I don't know.