PDA

View Full Version : Child with Asthma

junedis
02-05-2008, 07:10 AM
We are going to Disney in June(15-22) and our 6 year daughter has asthma. It has been mostly controlled the past year, but we have had many problems between ages 1-5. I am concerned that the heat and humidity may be a problem. (We are from PA and the humidity is a more controllable factor here.) Any suggestions or tips would be great as we can only go go this time of year due to the fact that I am a teacher .)hanks so much!:mickey:

SodaPopMGK
02-05-2008, 07:54 AM
I have a son who's asthma is always triggered in Disney because of the weather. I have always travelled with a battery operated nebulizer, I find the inhaler with the spacer doesn't work as effectively for him when his attacks are bad, although I always carry it just in case. Also,the First Aid stations have always allowed us to use a room to give him his treatments, which is nice because it's private and nobody is staring at you and it's air conditioned which really helps. Lastly, I have always gone over his plan with the doctor before I leave. I also want to add that my other sons are asthmatic and the weather doesn't affect them at all, so you just don't know until you get there. Have a great trip!

SBETigg
02-05-2008, 08:06 AM
I'm an adult with asthma and I have fewer problems in Disney World, for some reason. Even in hot, humid weather. I take my regular medication and have never had to reach for my rescue inhaler. But this is something that could affect different people differently. My asthma is allergy triggered and I think I'm away from my usual triggers at WDW.

Tinkitude
02-05-2008, 08:41 AM
I would definitely contact your doctor for suggestions. Just be prepared for anything. It will probably depend a lot on what exactly triggers your child's asthma. Take your time in the parks, and roll with however it goes. You'll have a great time.

MartyS
02-05-2008, 08:54 AM