PDA

View Full Version : All Alone! Where to Dine?

jakeybake
01-17-2008, 03:39 PM
Hi all,

I was lucky enough to be invited to a conference at the Grand Floridian the first week of March. I have never been to WDW alone before and am wondering how I should plan out my dining.

To be honest, I think I would be a bit embarrassed to dine at a nice full service restaraunt alone since I have never done this before.

Has anyone ever dined alone and if so, did you feel comfortable doing it? I want to enjoy myself and great meals are always as important to me as the parks and resort are.

Should I just get over it and eat at the nicer places or should I just counter service all week?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!
Jay

JPL
01-17-2008, 03:50 PM
I have dined alone many times at WDW. Restaurants where you can sit at the bar are always a great choice for dining alone. Then there are always the obvious CS locations and hotel food courts. But if you feel the urge to have a nice meal don't let dining alone discourage you. I will admit at times it does feel a little weird but for the most part you should be fine.

AwPhooey
01-17-2008, 04:01 PM
I've eaten at a few restaurants alone and, like JPL said, eating at a bar is great.

For example, I ate at California Grill by myself and I was seated at the bar right in front of the kitchen, so I was able to watch the chefs cook all of the great food!

If you don't mind sitting with other families, Hoop Dee Doo Musical Revue and Spirit of Aloha are great because you can sit with others and enjoy dinner and the show.

I also ate at Liberty Tree Tavern for dinner (character meal) and, while the food was good, it was kind of awkward being surrounded by families whose kids were there to see the characters. One nice family asked if I wanted photos with the characters, but I declined.

If I ever go on another solo trip, I'll take the opportunity to dine at restaurants that would be too expensive if I went with the rest of my family.