PDA

View Full Version : An Inside View of Autism

Nate's Grandpa
01-09-2008, 05:04 PM
Ever wonder what is going on inside an autistic mind?

There is an excellent article written by Temple Grandin, Ph.D. here:
www.autism.com/autism/first/inside.htm

Yes, she is an assistant professor who was diagnosed with autism at age 2.

Von-Drake
01-10-2008, 07:29 AM
James,

Great Article. Thanks!

Mikey Piano 23
01-16-2008, 12:04 AM
Very informative. I am a teacher and I have taken several classes on students with diverse needs including autism. I find it is a very under-researched, and misunderstood disorder. This should shed some light on it for the Intercot community. Thanks!

starryeyes21
01-16-2008, 01:21 PM
She's published books too. Animals In Translation is amazing. I would recommend it to anybody

Matt's Dad
01-24-2008, 05:21 PM
Interesting Post - but I would caution anyone who says "this is what its like to be autistic" .... without adding the phase "for me" to the end.

Austim is actually often termed ASD (autism spectrum disorder). The reason being, the symptoms and severity of Autism vary with each individual .... each person fall somewhere on the spectrum. (Personally, I think too many people feel that the spectrum is linear ... when in reality, it is multi-dimensional).

Some Autistic people hate being touched, others crave deep pressure. Some are bothered by noises or lights, others are not. Some have physical limitations, others do not. Some develop speech, others may never develop this skill. Some have reactions to food, others will not.

I believe the post is a great post for what Autism is like for one person.... and if it opens some eyes, great. But just a word of caution ... until more is known about the condition, each person must be treated as the individual that they are.

Briansmom
01-24-2008, 08:09 PM