PDA

View Full Version : Laid Off :(

mjaclyn
01-03-2008, 02:17 PM
I'm so depressed right now - I basically just got laid off from my job. I'm a Graphic Designer and my boss said that they don't have enough work coming in to keep me on fulltime. He says he's very happy with the work I'm doing so he wants to continue our business relationship on a contract basis. That basically means to me that he wants me to do the same amount of work as I'm doing now for less money. I'm also very irritated because I was supposed to have my yearly review last JUNE and get a raise. It's been pushed off and pushed off and now he doesn't have to give me one! I'm depressed and ticked off at the same time. I really don't want to have to go through looking for a new job!

I'm also worried because we have our next trip to WDW planned for three weeks from now. How can I go and have fun knowing that we don't really have the money to spend? Our airline tickets, park tickets and room are already paid for and we're signed up for the dining plan. Maybe we should cancel the dining plan and try to save money on eating out. *sigh* Lots to think about...

bleukarma
01-03-2008, 02:23 PM
I am so sorry that has happened to you! :( Losing your job is one of the worst feelings in the world! But, be confident in yourself and your abilities and another job will come along, hopefully a better one!

What's sad is, I work in real estate and I'm looking out for my pink slip at any time now. It's just a sign of the times.

MaryPoppinsFan
01-03-2008, 02:43 PM
Sorry to hear about being laid off. I wish you the best of luck!
I can relate as I was laid off from my contract job at Sprint on New Year's Eve. Here in Michigan there is nothing right now, but I'm taking it easy and enjoying it, working on my school auction.
Enjoy Disney, it will all work out..:mickey:

Ian
01-03-2008, 02:50 PM
Ugh ... been there ... I'm really sorry to hear it happened to you.