PDA

View Full Version : 2008 Trip Unlikely...

darthmacho
10-04-2007, 11:58 AM
For a variety of reasons that I won't get into, the 2008 trip to WDW that I've been hyping for several years now is probably not going to happen. Unfortunately there are more important issues for us to deal with at the moment. I guess I can hope for 2009.

Of course I'm disappointed myself, as I've been wanting to go since our last trip in 2003, but the worst part will be trying to explain to my
6yoDD, who recently reminded me we need to buy the 2008 Birnbaum book soon. It breaks my hear to tell her, but I have to, since it was my own fault for getting her hopes up in the first place. :(

faline
10-04-2007, 12:09 PM
Sorry you need to postpone!

wedway fan
10-04-2007, 12:20 PM
i feel for you, darth...

had to cancel twice in the last 5 years for several reasons, and no matter how right you know you are to cancel, it still hurts.

i'm just as guilty as you for ramping up the kids' excitement, and paid the last time by having to tell them we weren't going. they took it so much better than i did, especially when they realized it was just being put off yet another year and not cancelled altogether.

hopefully you can find somewhat of a replacement, even a long weekend away locally, and get the kids on board for planning that.

then, start the countdown for 2009!

mouseketeer mom
10-04-2007, 01:19 PM
Oh. My heart goes out to you. Feeling like you hurt your child hurts more than actually missing the trip.:( I'm so sorry. I agree with a previous poster who suggested a long weekend locally somewhere. This was the first year we missed my sons BD in WDW..we planned a weekend at the local Great Wolf Lodge instead, with an indoor water park. Sure, its not disney, but the kids had a blast. It was something to look forward to, that didn't require lots of money or time.

cal5755
10-04-2007, 06:28 PM