PDA

View Full Version : Anybody Play Snare Drums.......

merlinmagic4
09-11-2007, 11:02 AM
.........or even know what they are? Are they easy to play?

Also, is there any wind instrument that requires LESS wind, if that makes any sense. My son has to choose an instrument and drums are his first choice. However, he has to have a second choice in case there are too many drums. He has terrible lungs so just wondering if any would be easier than others.

Thanks! I love the diverse knowledge here!

2Epcot
09-11-2007, 12:33 PM
A snare drum is the very common small drum you see in a marching band. It is a single drum with heads on the top and bottom of the drum. It is worn on a sling or a harness and is played with two sticks. The "snares" are medal wires on the bottom of the drum that give it that distinct sound from reverberation. In a concert or orchestra setting, the snare drum will sit on a medal stand. It is also one of the main drums that make up any drum set.

I started playing the snare drum in middle school, then went on to high school where I played all the percussion instruments. Percussion instruments are anything that is striked ... snare drum, bass drum, cymbals, bells, chimes, timpani (big large kettle drums), and even the triangle (among others).

I enjoyed playing drums and percussion, but it is very popular, especially among boys. Through my middle school and high school we had very few female percussionist. If a person can count, and has a sense of rhythm, they are not hard to play, but with any instrument, it takes practice. I played in marching band, concert band, orchestra, and several musical we did at our school. It was a great experience.

I do not have great knowledge of wind instruments. My thought would be the woodwind instruments use less wind then the brass ones. Instruments like clarinet, saxophone, flute, as opposed to trumpet, trombone, french horn, and tuba.

murphy1
09-11-2007, 12:48 PM