PDA

View Full Version : Florida Resident One Day Ticket..No more Discount??

RemyzCookin'1976
08-24-2007, 01:54 PM
Help! I am a Florida resident and I only want to take my family to Disney for one day..we don't have the time or $$$ to go for longer..but yesterday someone told me that as a Florida Resident, you can no longer get a discount on the 1-day ticket at the gate! Is this true? Why would they do this? Does anyone else think this is really upsetting? And is there any way to still get the discount? I need immediate help! :bang:

DizneyRox
08-24-2007, 02:28 PM
Discounts are offered when there is a need to get people interested in something. You can not always count on a discount being available.

For example, day old bread. Why would you buy day old bread at the same price as fresh bread. Stores may discount the day old bread to make you think hmm... Maybe the day old bread is good enough for what I need.

Another example would be if say Disney needs to attract more people into the parks, or the hotels for any given time frame. Florida resident APs worked like this. They have black out dates, which happen to coincide with the dates that have been historically speaking, high volume time frames. You sell the Florida Resident AP at a discount over the normal AP knowing that those poeple DO NOT have access to the parks those days.

The same would hold true for the one day tickets. Sure, sometimes it nice to have tolocals show up, and if a discounted ticket helps them decide to visit, then great. Unfortunately (for FL residents), attendence has been through the roof, so disney doesn't need you guys to help fill the parks. Full price folks are the ones illing the parks, and are happy to do it.

If this keeps up, you can be sure that the Fl. Resident AP will go away as well, and maybe Fl Resident discounted rooms, etc.

It's part of doing business... After 9/11 they needed Florida Residents to help fill the parks, now they don't. So much for loyalty, huh?

bleukarma