PDA

View Full Version : A Invitation to the "Reverse Dream Squad"

jetsdc
08-10-2007, 11:18 AM
On my last visit to the World, I did something I've never done before - and it gave me one of the best feelings I've ever had at Disney.

I approached a random cast member on Main Street during evening EMH one night (he happened to be Custodial staff). He was just going about doing his job, and I quietly went up to him and said: "I just wanted to say a heartfelt thank you. You probably don't get to hear it enough, but I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate everything you do every day to make this such a special place for me and my family. I hope you know how much it means to us."

I didn't say it loudly or to get attention - I just wanted it to be a nice quiet moment with a hard working CM. He just got this great look in his eyes and gave me a big smile, and said you're welcome. At first I was nervous to say it - I didn't want to come off as patronizing. But I could see he was touched by my gesture, and it made me feel amazingly good inside. Sure, I always say "thank you" to a CM after a ride or attraction, in passing. But stopping to say it in a really heartfelt way, and to a random CM just doing his job -- who hadn't done anything unique "for me", made it so much more special.

I have to say, it's probably the first time in my many trips that I felt like I was the one spreading the magic. We get so much from the CMs, and this small, simple gesture helped to give a little back. It seems to me that if more of us made a similar gesture, it would really be a great way to reward the CMs. Pick someone randomly and just look them in the eye and let them know how you feel. It can be our own way, as guests, of being a dream squad in reverse. Sure we can't give out material things to CMs (I've heard tipping is not allowed), but we can give intangible rewards.