PDA

View Full Version : I'm sooo irritated!

Cinderelley
08-08-2007, 12:42 PM
I've been a nurse for 5 years, all at the same hospital, and things just keep getting worse and worse. They started with revamping our assessment paperwork, which wouldn't have been too bad except they had the head of security do it. The head of security!!!! What does he know about assessing a patient? Then they increased our patient to nurse ratio. It used to be that we all had a maximum of 5 patients. Then it went to 6 patients for everyone except the team leader. Now the team leader has to have 6 patients too. (To all of you who aren't nurses, one patient doesn't sound like a lot, but it really is.)
I told my boss that it was too much with all the extra paperwork/jobs that the team leader has to do. So, she makes an appointment with her boss for me to talk to her about it. I presented her with all my arguments logically and concisely. She agreed with me, and then said she wouldn't do anything about it. :confused:
At the meeting this morning, they presented us with more paperwork that we are supposed to be doing, which really isn't my job. It's not my job to diagnose a patient with severe sepsis or myeloproliferative diseases. They say it's because our rates of venous thromboembolism are too high. Okay, take this "assessment" paperwork to the doctors and have them "assess" their own patients like they should do. It's their job to order things to prevent it - not mine. I don't have that authority. I don't have that kind of schooling, and I don't have that kind of paycheck. This is just one more thing the hospital administration is shoving on the nurses, because the doctors won't do their job.