PDA

View Full Version : Is the first week in January a good time?

monkeycity
07-28-2007, 11:12 PM
I am a teacher :number1: and my wife a sign language interpreter (her first year:D) for a school district, and so we have all of the holidays off together this year, the first time in our 11 year marriage. :cloud9:. We were thinking of trying Disney the first week in January (we have kids, too), after all the craziness of Christmas and New Year's :fresh:. Would that be a good time to visit? Will all the decorations and show changes, etc., be changed back to normal by then?

snowflakegirl
07-29-2007, 12:45 AM
My DH and I went in January 2004 for our honeymoon. We got married Jan 3, drove down the 4-5, and spent the 6 through the 10th in the parks. It was by far our favorite time to visit. The crowds were minimal at most, general wait times were 5 to 20 minutes depending on ride and time of day. It was cooler, a couple of days we actually wore light weight jackets, and one night sitting out for Fantasmic, it was cold enough they were walking around selling mugs of hot chocolate and people were buying beach towels for blankets. On the other hand, there was a day or two where we (having come down from snowy new hampshire) were walking around in t-shirts and shorts because it felt warm to us.

As far as decorations, for the most part, they were down by the time we got there. There was still some decoration here and there, but things were mostly back to normal.

Hope that helps. Whenever you decide to go, have fun!

LudwigVonDrake
07-29-2007, 11:21 AM
From people I know who went during that time, it's a great time to go if you don't like crowds. Wait times are down as are the crowds. If you go, have a great trip :tink:

jenfriend
07-29-2007, 06:04 PM