PDA

View Full Version : converse shoes at the park

septembergirl
06-26-2007, 02:28 AM
My DSs love converse tennis shoes - not the sport kind but the canvas high tops. They don't seem to have much support. Is it a mistake to let them wear them in the parks?

JPL
06-26-2007, 08:40 AM
I have seen people wearing them in the parks. I have no personal experience with them but I would think cushioning would be a bigger problem than support. Your are doing alot of walking and your feet are absorbing alot of shock. I would recommend a good pair of walking or running shoes.

SBETigg
06-26-2007, 08:50 AM
I think their feet will be killing them at the end of the day. There just isn't enough foot support for a long day in the parks, in my opinion. I think wearing them would be a mistake, yes, but I also can't imagine people surviving in flip-flops all day and it happens. If it's a big issue for them, it wouldn't hurt to try it and see and have a better pair of shoes back at the room for the next day.

WonderlandsMostWanted
06-26-2007, 08:54 AM
I can see it both ways. I'm someone who's been wearing Chuck Taylor's (the Converse canvas All Star shoes) for years and they are typically very comforable for me. But, after a really long day of walking, like Disney, I can see where the lack of cushion/shock absorbtion could get uncomfy. Maybe, if you can't get them into other shoes, you can at least get them some good gel insoles to stick in the shoes to help.

mainemajor
06-26-2007, 06:04 PM
I would not wear them because they give very little support and I find them uncomfortable after about an hour of wear. Another side point about these is that tend to stink a lot the longer someone wears them. Not a pleasent experience for anyone nearby

Khfan13
06-26-2007, 06:29 PM
:secret:I know I wore mine in 2005, and I don't remember my feet huring to badly. I think it helps if you are used to wearing them, then you don't really notice it anymore:blush:...

Donald A
06-26-2007, 06:40 PM