PDA

View Full Version : I may have done something bold (long)

angel8783
05-08-2007, 11:15 PM
To preface let me say that when I got engaged in December of 2005 I started to search for a new job because I knew my new husband and I would be moving about 40 miles down the freeway from our college town in about 6 months. He found a great job, we got married almost a year ago, and I kept my old job, 40 miles away in the college town because I could not find a job that would pay me well and would be ok with me taking night school (also right near our home, not in the orginal college town)

I made a deal with my current employers who did not want to lose me, that I would stay until I found another job, and they were happy with that and still are. Cut to about 1.5 years later, and still I have not found a job. I have a bachelors degree and I am pursuing a masters, and I need a job close to home (to cut down on driving) and that will be a little flexible with me on the school thing (I cannot work overtime when I have to get to class). I have not been feverisly looking for the 1.5 years, however, I have been steadily looking, more so in the last 3 months than ever before.

So, where does my boldness come in? I have been going on at least 1-2 interviews a week the past month. The last one I had was because of a great reference and the office knew many of the people that know me. They wanted to hire me, but did not want to pay me the extra $2 an hour I was asking, they really just wanted someone still in college, not a graduate. So, after losing this job (one of many) due to pay issues and the like, I turned my attentions to a job opening at the church my husband works for. They have an administrative postion they say they need to fill and they say they are interested in me. I know I can do the job, and the pay is good, however, they are in no hurry to fill the position it seems even though they are losing their person in a week.