PDA

View Full Version : NYC ?'s

mook3y
04-08-2007, 12:48 AM
Hi, looking at going to NYC for the first time in July for our anniversary.

Have some questions that I hope someone out there can help with.

We are flying in on a Friday and back on Sunday, maybe Monday.

Looks like the Westin at Times Square is a good choice for a nice hotel.

What is the best way to get from La Guardia to the hotel? I See shuttles for $17 @. Website says about 8 miles. Would I be better off with a cab?

We want to go to a broadway show and eat at tavern on the green. I think from the Westin we can walk to the show.

What is the best way to get to Tavern on the Green and the Empire State building from the Westin?

Is Tavern on the Green a good choice for dinner? :marg:

If we go to a 2pm show, how should we dress?

Anyone seen Mary Poppins yet?

Well that is enough questions for now thinks me. :D
Thanks in advance!!!

MsMin
04-10-2007, 01:55 AM
I'm no expert on NYC but maybe if I bump it back to the top you can get a little more info.
I've only gone twice and stayed in the Murray Hill area once and Madison Square Garden area.
We used the subway for most everything. We bought the pass that suited our stay for the time. Once was a week and once only 3 days. It was very useful.
I took a cab and I know you have to be careful not to get into any that are not city taxis.
Hopefully someone will come along with more info.
We had a great time. So much to see.

PrincessEmmasMommy
04-10-2007, 05:56 AM
Hi! Can't answer everything, but here goes:

Use the shuttle. Even though it says 8 miles a cab will be quite expensive as it charges for time that it sits and time that it moves.

Hotel sounds good, my father stayed there and loved it.

I've heard Tavern on the Green is good but never been. You can use a subway or bus or maybe a cab. All subway and bus routes are online. I think it is on the MTA's website.