PDA

View Full Version : EEEK!!! I just got laid off!

chadWDW
04-04-2007, 09:35 AM
Well, I went into work this morning at 7:30 and was home by 8:30 :funny: They are restructuring the department and don't need me anymore. It's scary but at the same time I feel reborn because I have been miserable there everyday for the last two years (the whole time I've worked there). The job was in Finance and I have my degree in Public Relations so it wasn't a good fit from the start. I'm just a little angry because my manager, who I've been close with, didn't really even talk to me about it. Just told me and walked me out. Oh well, one door closes another opens. I did the college program back in 02 and still have friends in Orlando, maybe it's time to head back down for a fresh start. Just have to stay positive!! :number1:

DizNee143
04-04-2007, 09:45 AM
im sorry this happened!! but its seems like it was a good thing rather than a bad thing for you!! i hope you find something your more happy doing!! :)

Christine
04-04-2007, 10:08 AM
I hope this turns out to be a blessing in disguise!

Best of luck to you!

Marker
04-04-2007, 10:23 AM
I totally understand your feeling that it may actually be for the best. We've faced reorgs, down sizing, off shoring, rebadging to another company(IBM), and then rebadging back, and what appear to be random layoffs for like 5 years. It's really, really, tiresome. Most recently, we were offered 3 separate time a voluntary separation package or 2 weeks per year of service. That would have been like 24 weeks of pay they were offering me leave, AND I DIDN'T (still haven't quite figured out why).

I do wish you luck, and hope it works out.

Caroleh
04-04-2007, 10:40 AM
I hope this turns out to be a blessing in disguise!

Best of luck to you!

I agree!!! Best of luck and make the most out of this.

Nascfan
04-04-2007, 10:46 AM