PDA

View Full Version : Milk Allergy Suggestions?

disney323
04-02-2007, 10:22 PM
Our DS was recently diagnosed with a milk allergy. He will be 19 months old when we go to WDW in May. I am new to all of this so am very nervous to take him out to eat when I won't be able to read labels myslef. (this is not to be confused w/lactose intolerance, it's a true milk allergy and all proteins associated with it. Lots of stuff he can't eat!) Has anyone had any experience with the milk allergy issue in Disney? I hear they are very accommodating but wanted some reassurance! Thanks!

CleveSJM
04-02-2007, 10:33 PM
My little one has a milk (lactose) sensitivity as well. I'm sure sensitivities differ so I'd ask your doctor how careful you have to be to avoid. Since it took 19 months to diagnose I would think it's fairly slight, like my DD.

She can have a little ice cream, not a whole bowl. She can pretty much handle all the cheese and other "milk as an ingedient" items.

We do have her on Silk soymilk and was very happy to see it on the shelves all over Disney. I don't recall not seeing it at a food court or larger counter service restaurant.

As long as we watch the ice cream intake, we are fine around WDW.

Have a great trip. :mickey:

kakn7294
04-03-2007, 01:32 AM